6 replies to this topic

#1 i_and_identity

i_and_identity

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 19 January 2006 - 08:21 PM

Hey yall,

I'm rather new to linux but i wanna start using it coz i'm sick of windoze. I wish to use SuSE 10. Is it any good? Also, i don't understand how to get SuSE, i went to http://www.opensuse.org and went to download it, but there are so many choices. I think the right one for me is SuSE 10 OSS edition which has no pty software. IS this the right choice of should i get sumthin else?
Windows: A thirty-two bit extension and GUI shell to a sixteen bit patch to an eight bit operating system originally coded for a four bit microprocessor and sold by a two-bit company that can't stand one bit of competition.

For God's Sake, stop using Micro$oft's stuff - it has security like a piece of swiss cheese!

GET MOZILLA'S FIREFOX AND THUNDERBIRD

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 guestolo

guestolo

Site Donator

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,247 posts

Posted 18 February 2006 - 12:28 AM

I just caught wind of Suse 10
Just downloaded and installed SUSE 10 myself a couple days ago
The download went smooth, I used the 5 CD's, I'm sure the single DVD would be fine or better
Downloaded from one of the mirror sites
http://www.novell.co...rrors_isos.html
First time I have ever used Linux
Since I have Spybot's FileAlyzer installed I made sure the MD5's all checked out
This I consider an important step, that way you don't waste your time burning the Image and trying to install with a bad download

I find Suse 10 so far really easy to navigate with and all my hardware except for the Scanner was fully functional on installation
Choice of KDE or GNOME on installation, or you can choose both if you prefer
I went with kde
Installed on another computer with win 98 on the master>>Linux on the slave
It recognized it right off the bat,
It paritioned the second hard drive all on it's own