Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

OCing Sempron 64 2800+ on AsRock K8NF4G-SATA2


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mastersenser

mastersenser

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 May 2006 - 12:45 AM

Hi, my first post.

I'm trying to reach the maximum OC of my rig.

My specs are:

AMD Sempron 64 2800+ @ 2012 MHz
AsRock K8NF4G-SATA2 BIOS v1.6
Seagate 40 Gb PATA 7200
Geil Value RAM 512 PC400 @ 2.5-3-3-7
Task 450 watts v1.3
Onboard Video and sound

I seem to have reached the ceiling/limit at 2012 MHz (250 HTT, mem @ 333, command rate @ 1T). I've seen others reaching 2400 (300 HTT). Can anybody suggest what settings should I use, or should I downgrade my BIOS, or replace my RAM? If RAM is the issue, any recommendations?

Thanks in advance. :D

#2 Beomagi

Beomagi

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 May 2006 - 08:37 AM

Lower the hypertransport multiplier. I peaked at 2.35GHz using the same board and chip.

downgrading the bios would help get you the voltage manipulation asrock disabled. If you want to do that, you'd need to fall back to version 1.2 http://www.asrock.co...el=K8NF4G-SATA2

use that as a last resort, as you should always try to run the latest bios.

Edited by Beomagi, 09 May 2006 - 08:37 AM.


#3 mastersenser

mastersenser

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 May 2006 - 06:01 PM

Lower the hypertransport multiplier. I peaked at 2.35GHz using the same board and chip.

downgrading the bios would help get you the voltage manipulation asrock disabled. If you want to do that, you'd need to fall back to version 1.2 http://www.asrock.co...el=K8NF4G-SATA2

use that as a last resort, as you should always try to run the latest bios.


Thanks for the advice. I'll try that once I get home.

#4 DOTANDCOM

DOTANDCOM

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 June 2006 - 05:17 AM

Hello,

I went to the bother of getting a username and password on here, after I discovered that someone was trying to do pretty much the same thing as I am, that is:
overclock an AMD sempron 2800 on an Asrock K8upgrade motherboard, except that I have an:
80GB Maxtod HDD,
1GB of generic RAM,
and one absalutely rubbish nvidia riva graphics card.

To overclock(I am entirely new to this) don't you just ajust the clock speed under the system BIOS ?

Thanks for any help,

DOTANDCOM

#5 mastersenser

mastersenser

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 June 2006 - 06:06 AM

Hello,

I went to the bother of getting a username and password on here, after I discovered that someone was trying to do pretty much the same thing as I am, that is:
overclock an AMD sempron 2800 on an Asrock K8upgrade motherboard, except that I have an:
80GB Maxtod HDD,
1GB of generic RAM,
and one absalutely rubbish nvidia riva graphics card.

To overclock(I am entirely new to this) don't you just ajust the clock speed under the system BIOS ?

Thanks for any help,

DOTANDCOM


Welcome to TechGuide.

In my past researches, I think your board can overclock much better compared to mine. Most users who have that board says they use bios version v1.30. I need to research first with your board's manual so I can answer your question. :D

#6 DOTANDCOM

DOTANDCOM

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 June 2006 - 03:02 PM

It's the ASrock K8Upgrade-NF3motherboard, and the BIOS specifications are:
AMI Legal BIOS
Supports "Plug and Play"
ACPI 1.1 Compliance Wake up Events
SMBIOS 2.3.1 Support
CPU stepless Control,
and the manual says that the chipset supports untied overclocking technology.