Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Memory Problems


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Rhoney

Rhoney

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2008 - 07:47 AM

I had been using only 256 MB of RAM on my PC because I could not afford to buy anymore, however this past weekend I went and bought a 512 MB stick of a different brand, I moved the 256 MB to the second slot and used the 512 MB in the first, I put my virtual memory to double the amount 1568 MB, all was well. After I mentioned this to my girlfriend's dad he told me he had 2 512 MB Kingston sticks I could have, I thought awesome!, I will take out the 2 I have and put in the 512 MB Kingston's ( I only have 2 slots) So I took out the recently bought 512 MB Corsair and the 256 Kingston that came with my computer and put in the 2 512 MB Kingstons.(Booted up the computer and doubled the virtual memory to 2048 MB, I heard that doubling the amount for the virtual memory is good) This is where the trouble started. I did not know why because I did the same thing for the bigger memory, but I began using programs and after awhile they would stop responding, Windows Explorer shutdown and so did an AVG scan that I was running. The blue screen then appeared and said something to the effect of a paging error in a non paged area, and it recommended I restart if this was the first time I saw this message, it happened a second time and I looked at the other options, so I just took out the new memory and put in the old that added to 768 MB ( the Corsair and the Kingston) all has been working fine, that is currently what I'm using while typing this. It also said sometihng about disabling BIOS memory if that didn't work or something. Can anyone help me out? I'm decently tech savvy, but this is a bit over my head.

#2 guestolo

guestolo

    Site Donator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,247 posts

Posted 11 November 2008 - 11:45 AM

It could be your page file is corrupt
Or the Memory sticks are not compatible

What is the make/model of your computer?
What operating system are you running?

Do you want to post your own logs from FRST?
Follow the instructions posted Click Here


#3 Rhoney

Rhoney

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2008 - 01:40 PM

I have a Dell Dimension 2400
it is running XP on service pack 3

#4 guestolo

guestolo

    Site Donator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,247 posts

Posted 11 November 2008 - 01:55 PM

Not sure of the Memory modules specs.
You can try the following and see if it's pagefile corruption

Shut down the machine and install the 2 kingston sticks

Reboot, Back in Windows

Right click on MyComputer and select Properties>>Advanced>>Settings under Performance>>
Advanced>>Change under Virtual Memory
Select No Paging File
Then click on SET>>OK
Reboot the computer

Back in Windows
Go back to Virtual Memory settings
This time select System Managed Size
Click on SET>>OK
Reboot the computer again

See if you still blue screen

Do you want to post your own logs from FRST?
Follow the instructions posted Click Here


#5 guestolo

guestolo

    Site Donator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,247 posts

Posted 11 November 2008 - 05:11 PM

Should of asked if you were running XP Pro or Home edition for alternative instructions

Do you want to post your own logs from FRST?
Follow the instructions posted Click Here


#6 Rhoney

Rhoney

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 November 2008 - 07:31 PM

I'm running Home Edition, and I do not get the blue screen with the 2 512 MB kingstons at start up, it is approximately 10-20 minutes after using the computer I get the screen

#7 guestolo

guestolo

    Site Donator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,247 posts

Posted 17 November 2008 - 07:35 PM

Did you try what I suggested earlier?

Do you want to post your own logs from FRST?
Follow the instructions posted Click Here


#8 Rhoney

Rhoney

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 06:52 PM

going to try it tomorrow, will tell you when I'm done.

#9 newbiz02

newbiz02

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 31 December 2008 - 01:23 PM

going to try it tomorrow, will tell you when I'm done.



Easy solution, dial down the amount you are allocating for paging file.
Pretty much just test to see the largest amount you can use without getting those errors.
Resveratrol Ultra Owns.
And now I'm
making sick gains in weightroom.


Play Some Adictive Mini Games Free