Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Networking 2 windows xp


  • Please log in to reply
212 replies to this topic

#201 Donna Michelle Cappucio

Donna Michelle Cappucio

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 February 2006 - 01:57 AM

After installing some Windows XP updates, my home network mysteriously stopped working, and I got the message "You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The network path was not found."

I spent hours and hours on this and tried everything in these forums with no luck. A tech guy at my job was kind enough to help me with this issue. His advice:

With all computers on the network turned on, follow these steps on each computer.

1. Go to Start/ All Programs / Accessories /Command Prompt
2. Type ipconfig /flushdns and hit Enter. (ipconfig [space] /flushdns)
3. Type ipconfig /registerdns and hit Enter. (ipconfig [space] /registerdns)


Now, try viewing workgroup computers and accessing each. (Start/ My Newtwork Places/ View Workgroup Computers)

I hope this works for you, too! If not, try the advice from the previous threads (which I did), and then try this again.

#202 nheero

nheero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 March 2006 - 06:46 PM

Hi, I've got the same problem, but with a slightly different twist. I get the message "Xpc is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permisions."

I've tried a number of things. The thing that initiated the quest was loss of internet for one of my computers. I have four PCs on a linksys WRT54GS gateway. Three are working fine, the fourth can access the other computers as well as the gateway (192.168.1.1), but cannot find the internet for some reason. I tried installing the latest internet browser to no avail. Firewalls have been disconnected, leaving only the router firewall, which is apparently all that is needed fro a home network.

The PCs are all windows XP SP2.

I can ping any computer to any other computer and can connect from the problem computer to any other computer. But none of the other computers can connect to the problem computer, which leads me to suspect that this is related to the internet connection failure.

I've tried mapping the drive with connection to a different user, IRPStackSize, and a few other diagnostics, but haven't solved it yet. Any ideas?

#203 pro edge

pro edge

    Obviously a Bot

  • Elite Anti-Scammers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,566 posts

Posted 14 March 2006 - 07:02 PM

^_^
You don't need to know things -.- lol
Proud Member of the UNITED STATES ARMY !!

#204 nheero

nheero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 March 2006 - 07:43 PM

I fixed the problem, yay! :D I reinstalled Windows XP SP2 via upgrade option in setup. It's nice when that works without having to reformat the disk to do a clean install.

#205 bobb181818

bobb181818

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 May 2006 - 05:26 PM

Post 127 worked for me...tried all the others to no avail, (a total of about 5 hours, i would say) but installing the windows service pack, and typing in the instructions exactly as they appeared worked like a charm. Boy was it beautiful when it worked. Worth the five hours.....

#206 abcd200x

abcd200x

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 May 2006 - 10:08 PM

I have a laptop with the XP Firewall turned on and a desktop with Zone Alarm Pro. I put the ip of both computers as a trusted zone in Zone Alarm and made sure all the other settings (workgroup name, etc) are corrects. I can fully access the laptop from the desktop. From the laptop I can only use "remote desktop" to access the desktop. I can't access the desktop for simple file sharing and if I try to access the computer from the run command I get a dialog box asking for a password the path is \\computername\guest. These problems only came up after I formatted the hard drive on the desktop. Everything else worked fine before. Does anyone know what the problem can be?

Thanks.

#207 inkyfingers

inkyfingers

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 31 August 2006 - 11:30 AM

I am trying to get a laptop and desktop (both xp) networked together. To begin with the laptop couldnt see the desktop at all, and the desktop could see the laptop, but when i tried to acess shared files I got the same error message as everybody else, so I tried this solution:

1- Open dos prompt, type ipconfig -all.
2- Look at the 'Node Type' it probably says Peer-Peer or something (this is what mine said)
... we want it to say 'Hybrid'
3- Press 'Start' button > Run... > In the box type regedit. This opens your system's registry.
4- Navigate the tree to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Services/NetBT/Parameters
5- Rt. mouse click and select New > DWORD Value
6- Name it 'NodeType' (without the quotes)
7- Rt. mouse click on it and select Modify
8- Set Value Data to '8' (no quotes)
9- Leave Base alone. 'Hexadecimal' should be selected
10- Press 'ok'
11- Close regedit and reboot. (Your done!)
12- Open dos prompt and type ipconfig -all
For node type it should now say 'Hybrid'
13- Do this to the other computer that you cannot network. Your computers should be able to see one another.
----------
I do not know what 'Hybrid' is, but perhaps some of the network freaks might be able to explain. I have used this on two different occasions and it seems to be the only thing that works.



Now, my desktop cant even see my laptop!! So i have gone a step backwards. Any advice on how to reverse this without wrecking my registry? (i'm jumpy about changing it in the first place, and this has proved me right)

thanks

#208 Pureblood

Pureblood

    Obviously a Bot

  • Elite Anti-Scammers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,426 posts

Posted 31 August 2006 - 01:34 PM

this post is very old.

If you still want to contact me send a pm to me here i'll give personal msn.
MSN: [email protected]
mm.com

Total Amount of Money MMed and Item Transfered: 766 Mil
Total Amount of MM's and Item Transfers:128


Posted Image



#209 price

price

    Forum Addict

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts

Posted 02 September 2006 - 09:01 AM

i have a problwem with mine also im also using a linksys WRT54GS card and an smc2404wbr wirrless barracade router

along with my g net adsl modem

the problem im having is getting the connection to work for some reason i must have the router hooked up wrong casue it will show up on my pc that is wirelessly connected and it says its connected but i cant acces the internet or nothing

also on my access point pc it wont allow me to connect to the internet on this unless i discopnnect the wirrless router

any one can help maybe i got it hooked up wrong

from internet (phone jack)--------adsl modem (LAN)------wirless router(internet/WAN)-(1)---------pc (card)

i dont know if ull be able to understand that without seeing my modems but if u can maybe u can tell me what im doing wrong?
SOLD pbp pin to HETERO KARHU - i gave pin first he payed second -SUCCESFUL (very good buyer)
SOLD lvl 90 account to DERIK - i gave him pass first he payed second then i gave bank pin -SUCCESSFUL(very good buyer)
BOUGHT 2 pbp pins from RS4LIFE1 half then half trade - SUCCESSFUL- recommended seller
SOLD METAL 9m for 8$ ea -SUCCESFUL -recommended buyer
SOLD SAMMY a green hallo mask - SUCCESFUL - not a recommened buyer kinda seemed like he tried to scam then realized he couldnt
SOLD SHRIMPCATHCHER a pbp pin PUREBLOOD mmed - SUCCESFUL both great guys
BOUGHT diablo 2 from UBERCABBAGE - successful - great guy
SOLD SUIREZ lvl 95 main he went first - SUCCESSFUL - very trustworthy guy

<img src="http://i20.photobuck...cammers8pm.gif" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" />

#210 redwood

redwood

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 04:03 PM

One solution to the “<Share> is not accessible. You may not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. Network path was not found” problem.

I have 3 XP Pro computers and a Mandriva 2007 computer on an Ethernet with an ADSL box. The problem was that one of the XP computers could access shares on all of the other computers but none of the others could access this particular one’s shares. All had the AVG anti-virus and the MS Firewall in operation.

I “rtfm”ed every thread I could find on the internet about this but none solved the problem.

NETBIOS, file & printer sharing were set on all, IPCONFIG gave similar results for all, all were in the same workgroup with different IP addresses and names. All had hosts and lmhosts files identical. Client for Microsoft Networks was loaded on all. I had been through every TCP/IP, network, firewall, Security Policy and every other parameter I could think of.

The main clue was that everything worked properly if the Microsoft Firewall was disabled on the XP system that would not allow the others to access its shares. Because of the ADSL box, leaving the Firewall off was not an option. So there was something wrong with the Firewall. But what? I compared every parameter in the “Exceptions” and “Advanced” tabs on the Firewall “cpl” (control panel applet) – nothing appeared awry. Incidentally, I could not “ping” the errant XP system but otherwise everything could “ping” everything else.

Eventually I noticed the “Restore Defaults” button on the advanced tab of the Firewall “cpl”. Taking note of the current settings in the “exceptions” and the “advanced” tabs, I hit the “Restore Defaults” button. The problem was now solved. All I had to do was to put back manually (I could have reinstalled the relevant packages) the settings I had lost.

It would seem that the MS Firewall has the capability of getting its knickers in a twist without you being able to see the specific problem. I guess that the “Restore Defaults” has been put there for a reason.

Hope this is of use to someone out there.

#211 Pureblood

Pureblood

    Obviously a Bot

  • Elite Anti-Scammers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,426 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 04:32 PM

I had a problem kinda of like that but was a little different. I got the same error message you did though

If you still want to contact me send a pm to me here i'll give personal msn.
MSN: [email protected]
mm.com

Total Amount of Money MMed and Item Transfered: 766 Mil
Total Amount of MM's and Item Transfers:128


Posted Image



#212 keef

keef

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 05:05 PM

After spending all afternoon trying all the different methods here, I found that it was because I had recently installed vmware that I could not access my network shares.  I thought I would mention this here since it wasn't mentioned before.  After uninstalling vmware, I was back in business.

One more solution for the pile.

:P

#213 advertiser

advertiser

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 March 2008 - 10:42 AM

Getting the error message as one above would mean that the updates for Windows XP got corrupted. You can simply do a system restore or just access the gpedit.msc


Sam Milby
-----------------------------------------------------
Tiscali broadband and phone deals in the UK. 8MB broadband from £6.49 with free uk and international phone calls. Now which Tiscali TV. Tiscali network, work from home, earn money and free to join. http://www.tiscali-n...m/fastbroadband